Christmas in July!

 No we haven't gone mad - Christmas in July is often celebrated in Australia and New Zealand, during their winter months. We've timed this event so that our friends across the globe can join us, but you are welcome to join wherever you are in the world! 

23rd July 

9am (BST) London
6pm (AEST) Sydney
4pm (AWST) Perth
8pm (NZST) Wellington

£8 per device

As this is a virtual event, you only need one ticket per device rather than per person. If you would like to buy multiple tickets for different devices, we would recommend doing multiple transactions. 

This talk will be streamed over zoom. You will receive the link about an hour before the talk is due to begin. If you purchase a ticket with less than an hours notice, please give us a call on 020 7405 2127 and we will send you the link manually. 

Book your tickets here or contact our events team on events@dickensmuseum.com 

 
The book 'Dickens & Christmas' by Lucinda Dickens Hawksley

 

 Why did Charles Dickens really write A Christmas Carol? Join us virtually on 23rd July to uncover the fascinating tale, as Charles Dickens set out to write his most famous book. Explore the world of Dickens in 1843, as he toured the UK and was shaken by what he saw. Discover the surprising reaction of the publishers when Dickens first suggested writing a Christmas story, and experience the private life of Dickens, how this helped shape the creation of the novella.

This virtual talk is brought to you by Lucinda Dickens Hawksley. Historian and author of books including, Charles Dickens, Charles Dickens and his Circle and Charles Dickens and Christmas, Lucinda is also the great-great granddaughter of the famous writer himself. She has an incredible knowledge of Dickens and his relationship with the festive season, and brings a wonderful, personal perspective to the study of Charles Dickens.

This talk will be live streamed over zoom, and is timed so that our friends in Australia and New Zealand can join us. If you’re celebrating Christmas in July this year, then get inspired with this remarkable talk!

This presentation will be live streamed over zoom. You will receive the link about an hour before the talk is due to begin. If you buy tickets with less than an hours notice please call us on 020 7405 2127 so that we can send you the link manually. Lucinda will host a short Q&A session after the presentation.

Book now or for enquiries please contact events@dickensmuseum.com 

Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your basket